Bruins' Tim Thomas moves to No. 2

Boston's goalie has been simply dominant in this year's playoffs

Originally Published: May 9, 2011
By Tom Awad | Hockey Prospectus
Dwayne Roloson, Tim ThomasGetty ImagesDwayne Roloson and Tim Thomas lead the Conn Smythe race based on their GVT.

Each year the Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded to the MVP of the Stanley Cup playoffs. Just as during the regular season with the Player Power Rankings, Hockey Prospectus will use its metric analysis to measure which postseason player is most deserving of the coveted award.

These rankings are based on player production in terms of Hockey Prospectus' GVT valuation metric. If you are unfamiliar with GVT and how it works, you can find more here.

As Round 2 continues, more names drop off the list with their eliminated teams. Dwayne Roloson continues to lead after helping the Bolts oust the Washington Capitals in just four games, but he finally has some company at the top: