Team preview: San Diego

Blue Ribbon Yearbook previews the 2009-10 college basketball season, exclusively on Insider.

Updated: October 26, 2009, 10:50 AM ET
Blue Ribbon Yearbook
Editor's Note: ESPN Insider has teamed with Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook to provide a comprehensive look at all 334 Division I teams. To order the complete 2009-10 edition of Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, visit or call 1-877-807-4857.
(Information in this team report is as of Oct. 1.)


To call last year a disappointment for the Toreros would be a vast understatement. They returned the core of the team that first-year coach Bill Grier led to the WCC Tournament title and an upset of No. 3-seeded Connecticut in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. But most of last year, the dynamic backcourt duo of Brandon Johnson and Trumaine Johnson were nowhere to be seen, for much different reasons.