The NC State foul was wrong
December, 3, 2007
By Doug Gottlieb
• I had a long discussion with a very well-known referee the other day in regard to the NC State versus Villanova call, and here are the three important things he pointed out. 1. The call was made by the wrong official. Jim Burr was in perfect position and has officiated in 14 Final Fours, so to overrule his judgment is a mistake. The call itself was not as much a mistake as the violation of the No. 1 rule in officiating: trust your partners. This call has been discussed over and over by the officiating community in the last week.
To continue reading this article you must be an Insider