No shoo-ins among boxing's newest Hall of Fame candidates

11m - Boxing

The late Hector Camacho Sr. leads a trio of newcomers on this year's ballot for International Boxing Hall of Fame consideration.

Yuri Arbachakov and Sot Chitalada are also on the ballot for the first time in the modern category, which is for fighters whose final bout was no earlier than 1989.

Unlike in most recent years, none of the three newcomers to the ballot would be considered a slam dunk for entrance. That's compared to two years ago, when the ballot's three newcomers were Oscar De La Hoya, Felix Trinidad and Joe Calzaghe, all of whom were elected, or even last year, when ballot newcomers Riddick Bowe and Ray "Boom Boom" Mancini were chosen.

Full members of the Boxing Writers Association of America and a panel of international boxing historians began receiving their ballots this week. They are due back to the Hall of Fame by Oct. 31 with results to be announced in December.

Those elected will be enshrined June 12 during the 27th annual induction ceremonies at the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota, New York. To be eligible, fighters must not have fought for at least five years.

"Macho" Camacho (79-6-3, 38 KOs), one of boxing's most flamboyant fighters ever, was born in Puerto Rico but grew up on the streets of Spanish Harlem in New York, rising to fame and fortune while winning world titles in three weight classes -- junior lightweight, lightweight and junior welterweight -- thanks to his ultrafast hands and skills. He was master technician with an all-time great chin, having never been stopped in any of his defeats, and was one of the biggest stars of the 1980s thanks to his regular presence on network television.

Camacho, a southpaw, went 10-4-2 with two knockouts against world titleholders or Hall of Famers and defeated notable opponents such as Rafael "Bazooka" Limon (for his first world title in 1983 at age 21), Edwin Rosario (in a 1986 lightweight title defense) and Mancini (for a vacant junior welterweight belt in 1989). Late in his career, when they were both past their best, Camacho twice won decisions against Roberto Duran.

But Camacho lost two of his biggest fights, his 1992 showdown with Mexican legend Julio Cesar Chavez Sr. in a junior welterweight title challenge and to then-welterweight titleholder Felix Trinidad in 1994.

A testament to Camacho's star power came in 1997 when, despite being way past his prime, he landed two huge fights. He was selected as the comeback opponent for unretiring Sugar Ray Leonard and stopped him in the fifth round of what was Leonard's final fight. That paved the way for a welterweight world title shot against a prime Oscar De La Hoya, who pounded Camacho for 12 rounds and won a near-shutout decision.

Camacho died at age 50 in 2012 as a result of a gunshot to the head while sitting in a parked car in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Arbachakov's career was relatively brief -- 1990 to 1997 -- but the Russian held a flyweight world title for most of it. Arbachakov (23-1, 16 KOs), who was a 1989 world amateur champion, reigned from 1992 to 1997 and went 5-1 with four knockouts against titleholders and Hall of Famers.

He was based in Japan during his career and in his 13th fight scored an eighth-round knockout of Muangchai Kittikasem to win the flyweight world title. Arbachakov defended the title nine times before losing it to Chatchai Sasakul by decision after having outpointed him in a title defense two years earlier.

Chitalada (26-4-1, 16 KOs), of Thailand, boxed from 1983 to 1992 and twice won flyweight world titles. He went 7-4-1 with one knockout against titleholders or Hall of Famers.

He lost his first shot at a world title in his fifth fight but won it in his eighth fight when he claimed a split decision against Gabriel Bernal in 1984. Chitalada defended the title six times and then regained it by split decision against Yong-kang Kim in 1989. Four successful defenses followed.

The holdovers on the 30-man ballot are Paulie Ayala, Nigel Benn, Donald Curry, Chris Eubank, Leo Gamez, Genaro Hernandez, Julian Jackson, Santos Laciar, Rocky Lockridge, Miguel "Happy" Lora, James "Buddy" McGirt, Henry Maske, Dariusz Michalczewski, Sung-kil Moon, Michael Moorer, Orzubek "Gussie" Nazarov, Sven Ottke, Vinny Pazienza, Lupe Pintor, Gilberto Roman, Gianfranco Rosi, Samuel Serrano, Meldrick Taylor, Fernando Vargas, Wilfredo Vazquez Sr., Ratanapol Sor Vorapin and Hilario Zapata.

Electors can vote for up to five candidates in the modern category, and the top three vote getters will be elected. Candidates will also be elected in the observer, nonparticipant and old-timer categories.

On the nonparticipant ballot -- three will be elected by a panel of international historians -- the most notable addition is longtime judge Harold Lederman, who is best known to the public as the unofficial ringside scorer on HBO telecasts, where he has been working for decades.