Print and Go Back USC Trojans [Print without images]

Saturday, December 15, 2012
USC gives out team awards

By Garry Paskwietz

The USC Trojans held their 2012 team banquet Friday at the Tutor Campus Center Ballroom and the following awards were handed out:

Most Valuable Player: wide receiver Marqise Lee

Most Inspirational Player: safety T.J. McDonald

Leadership Award: center Khaled Holmes

Linemen of the Year: center Khaled Holmes (offense), defensive end Morgan Breslin (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver Marqise Lee (offense), safety T.J. McDonald (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year: linebacker Tony Burnett

Service Team Players of the Year: offensive tackle-guard Jordan Simmons (offense), defensive end Jabari Ruffin (defense)

Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run): wide receiver Robert Woods (76 yards vs. Syracuse)

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): center Khaled Holmes

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): tight end Randall Telfer

John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver Marqise Lee

Joe Collins Walk-on Award: offensive tackle-guard Nathan Guertler, cornerback Ryan Dillard

Courage Award: wide receiver Robert Woods

Co-Lifters Award: offensive tackle Kevin Graf, cornerback Nickell Robey

Team Captains: quarterback Matt Barkley, safety T.J. McDonald, center Khaled Holmes, cornerback Nickell Robey