Ranking the Big 12's top five all-time offensive linemen

This week we've begun ranking the five best players at each position in the history of the Big 12.

A couple of notes: We'll be basing these lists on the college careers of the players, not on how they fared in the NFL. And we've only considered players that wore Big 12 logos at the time they played.

We continue this series below with the offensive line:

1. Jammal Brown, Oklahoma (2001-04): After signing with the Sooners as a defensive tackle, Brown emerged as one of the finest offensive linemen in Sooners history. Both protecting quarterback Jason White's blind side and paving running lanes for Adrian Peterson, Brown was a unanimous All-American and a three-time All-Big 12 pick. He also became the fifth Sooner to win the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top interior lineman, while playing in two national championship games. Brown went on to become the 13th overall pick in the 2005 NFL draft.

2. Justin Blalock, Texas (2003-06): Blalock became the first player in Texas history to start 50 consecutive games for the Longhorns. He was a four-year starter and a three-time first-team All-Big 12 selection. Though Vince Young was the headliner on the 2005 squad, Blalock was a huge factor behind the Longhorns' high-powered offense during the national championship season of 2005. The following season, he was the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year and a unanimous All-American.

3. Russell Okung, Oklahoma State (2006-09): The proof of Okung's prowess is in the numbers. Over his final two seasons, Oklahoma State led the Big 12 in rushing yards. And in 2007 and 2008, with Okung manning the blind side from left tackle, the Pokes finished third and 15th in the country in fewest sacks allowed. In 2009, Okung was a unanimous All-American, Outland finalist and the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year. Okung went on to become the sixth overall pick in the 2010 NFL draft.

4. Aaron Taylor, Nebraska (1996-97): The university selected Taylor to its all-century team, a considerable honor considering Nebraska's tradition at offensive line. Taylor actually was an All-American at center in 1996, before moving to guard the following season and capturing the Outland Trophy. Taylor's teams produced a combined record of 49-2, which included the 1997 national championship. Taylor's No. 67 jersey is retired in Lincoln.

5. Spencer Drango, Baylor (2012-15): Drango was the key force behind one of the finest offensive lines in Big 12 history. Despite having to cycle through four different quarterbacks due to injuries, Baylor led the country in scoring and finished second in rushing this past season. The Bears also allowed just 86 sack yards, which was the ninth-fewest in the country. Drango twice was named the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year, and was one of only nine Baylor players to earn unanimous All-American honors.