O'Brien named semifinalist for COY award

November, 19, 2012
Bill O'Brien is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Football Club's Coach of the Year award.

Sixteen semifinalists were announced Monday, and O'Brien was just one of two Big Ten coaches to earn a spot on the list. Ohio State's Urban Meyer was the other.

The first-year Penn State coach boasts an overall 7-4 record and is the only coach to hold more than two losses. Still, by overcoming the sanctions and transforming the Nittany Lions' offense, the Maxwell Football Club looked upon him as one of the best.

The finalists will be announced Dec. 5, and the winner will be determined Dec. 19.

The entire list of semifinalists includes:
  • Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois
  • Sonny Dykes, Louisiana Tech
  • Darrell Hazell, Kent State
  • Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  • Chip Kelly, Oregon
  • Mike MacIntyre, San Jose State
  • Urban Meyer, Ohio State
  • Jim Mora, UCLA
  • Will Muschamp, Florida
  • Bill O'Brien, Penn State
  • Mark Richt, Georgia
  • Mike Riley, Oregon State
  • David Shaw, Stanford
  • Bill Snyder, Kansas State
  • Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Josh Moyer | email

Penn State/Big Ten reporter



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Penn State 2015 Class Debuts At No. 3
Craig Haubert discusses recent additions to the Nittany Lions' 2015 class and first-year coach James Franklin's success on the recruiting trail.Tags: Adam McLean, Ryan Bates, Penn State Nittany Lions, James Franklin