Big Ten men's basketball postseason awards

March, 5, 2012
The Big Ten announced its postseason men's basketball awards Monday night. Here are the recipients:

Player of Year (coaches and media): Draymond Green, Michigan State

Freshman of Year: Trey Burke, Michigan (media); Cody Zeller, Indiana (coaches)

Coach of the Year (coaches and media): Tom Izzo, Michigan State

Defensive Player of the Year (only coaches vote): Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Sixth man of the Year (only coaches vote): D.J. Byrd, Purdue

All-Big Ten First team (Coaches): Draymond Green, Michigan State; John Shurna, Northwestern; Jared Sullinger, Ohio State; Robbie Hummel, Purdue; Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin.

All-Big Ten First team (Media): Green; Shurna; Sullinger; Hummel; Tim Frazier, Penn State

All-Big Ten Second team (Coaches): Cody Zeller, Indiana; Trey Burke, Michigan; William Buford, Ohio State; Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State; Frazier

All-Big Ten Second team (media): Zeller, Burke, Buford, Taylor; Matt Gatens, Iowa

All-Big Ten Third team (coaches): Brandon Paul, Illinois; Tim Hardaway Jr., Michigan; Keith Appling, Michigan State; Drew Crawford, Northwestern; Gatens

All-Big Ten Third team (media): Hardaway Jr.; Appling; Crawford; Deshaun Thomas; Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Honorable Mention (coaches): Meyers Leonard, Illinois; Christian Watford, Indiana; Craft; Lewis Jackson, Purdue; Jared Berggren, Wisconsin; Ryan Evans, Wisconsin

Honorable Mention (media): Leonard; Paul; Jordan Hulls, Indiana; Victor Oladipo, Indiana; Watford; Aaron White, Iowa; Zack Novak, Michigan; Branden Dawson, Michigan State; D.J. Byrd, Purdue; Lewis Jackson, Purdue; Berggren; Evans.

All-Freshman Team (coaches only): Cody Zeller, Indiana; Trey Burke, Michigan; Aaron White, Iowa; Branden Dawson, Michigan State; Dave Sobolewski, Northwestern

All-Defensive Team (coaches only): Victor Oladipo, Indiana; Draymond Green, Michigan State; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Tim Frazier, Penn State; Josh Gasser, Wisconsin

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award: Stu Douglass, Michigan; Sam Maniscalco, Illinois; Jordan Hulls, Indiana; Matt Gatens, Iowa; Austin Thornton, Michigan State; Ralph Sampson III, Minnesota; Brandon Richardson, Nebraska; Nick Fruendt, Northwestern; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Billy Oliver, Penn State; Robbie Hummel, Purdue; Rob Wilson, Wisconsin

Michael Rothstein | email

ESPN Detroit Lions reporter



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

Michigan C Cites Concussions In Decision To Quit
Joe Schad discusses how concussions and a concern over long-term health have helped Michigan center Jack Miller decide not to play football his senior year.