Florida Gators: Tim Clark

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- Florida's quarterback rotation -- provided Jeff Driskel is cleared next week -- won't result in any changes in the offense.

Both players have essentially the same skill set, so it won't be a situation like 2006, when Chris Leak was the starter and Tim Tebow was brought in as a short-yardage runner or to run the spread option. Driskel and Jacoby Brissett are pretty much the same quarterback, although Driskel is a slightly better runner and Brissett is more of a pocket passer.

"From the schematic standpoint, there's not a drastic difference between the two guys as far as what we do and how we operate, which has been good for our offensive players because they're not trying to field two different styles of offense when one guy's on the field and one guy's not," UF coach Will Muschamp said.

(Read full post)

Gator coaches, players give out awards

December, 13, 2011

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- The Florida football team had its annual banquet last weekend and numerous awards were handed out. Some were chosen by the coaches and some by the players. Here's a recap of the winners from the school's website:


President’s Academic Award: Caleb Sturgis
Gene Elleson Community Service Award:
Jesse Schmitt
Iron Gator Strength and Conditioning Award:
William Green
Chris Patrick Courage Award:
John Brantley
Most Valuable Offensive Scout Team Award:
Tim Clark
Most Valuable Defensive Scout Team Award:
Mike McNeely
Most Valuable Special Team Scout Team Award:
Hygens Succes and Solomon Schoonover


Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Offense: Jeff Demps
Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Defense:
Dominique Easley
Greg See Tenacity Award Offense:
Matt Patchan
Greg See Tenacity Award Defense:
Dominique Easley
Most Valuable Special Teams Player:
Caleb Sturgis
Most Valuable Offensive Player:
Chris Rainey
Most Valuable Defensive Player:
Jon Bostic and Matt Elam
James W. Kynes Award (Best Mental/Physical Toughness):
John Brantley
Ray Graves Award (Team MVP):
Chris Rainey
Ferguson Leadership Award: Lerentee McCray and John Brantley
Team Captains (5):
John Brantley, Chris Rainey, Jeff Demps, William Green and Jaye Howard


McElwain discusses new Florida football
SEC Network's Greg McElory and Booger McFarland sit down to discuss the future of Florida football with head coach Jim McElwain.